πŸ’‘ Ideas & Tips

✦

Jun 21, 2024

✦

4 min read

How To Block Apps While Keeping Notifications?

How To Block Apps While Keeping Notifications?

Tired of constant distractions? Find out how to block apps and keep crucial notifications to increase your productivity and tackle phone addiction.

Do you find that you spend too much time on your phone and see only one solution: blocking your social media and other distracting apps? Perfect. But there's one small problem… it also blocks notifications! And that's not convenient for you: how will you know if you've received a message or if you're waiting for a delivery? Don't worry, we have THE solution for you!

It's tempting to block all your apps, thinking: that's it, no more distractions. But that doesn't take into account the fact that a lot of apps have their own messaging service. And to make things more complicated: depending on the app, it's never the same people contacting you! So what can you do? Well, guess what, we've found a really effective method to solve this problem.

Did you know?

Social media and similar services offer their own messaging services not to please you or "improve your experience," but to keep you engaged. Many services realized that people eventually experience a form of boredom: yes, scrolling can become tedious after a while.

So, to optimize what's called "retention," or keeping a user active on the service for a long period, they had to find a way. And what better than private messages! The result: people started communicating through these channels instead of SMS. We're afraid of missing a message or an important conversation. So we're willing to check back every day, just in case.

No sooner said than done, social media then did everything to make sure that after a little tour in your DMs, you feel like scrolling a bit more.

Blocking an App WITHOUT Notifications

To block an app, you can't do it natively on your iPhone. You'll need a third-party app, but don't worry, we know the best one. To change your life forever β€” and humbly β€” you can download the Jomo app, available on iPhone, iPad, and Mac.

1. Download and install Jomo.

2. Go to Rules > Sessions, then tap the + at the bottom right.

3. Choose: apps to block, duration, breaks (or not), and enable Strict mode if needed (you can't bypass or cancel).

4. Then, simply tap Schedule!

This solution works great, the only issue (or not, depending on you and your needs) is that you don't get any notifications when the app is blocked. So if your goal is to not be disturbed, it's perfect; otherwise, you'll need to try the second method.

Blocking an App WITH Notifications

There are two methods that work differently but both will allow you to block your apps while receiving notifications:

  • Method 1 will automatically reblock access to your app once the time is up.

  • Method 2 will notify you at the end of your break that it's time to close the app.

☝️ Method 1

It's a bit longer than Method 2, but it will reblock your app after the delay of your choice. For this, you'll need the Jomo app, of course, and the Apple's Shortcuts app (available for free on iPhone/iPad).

1. In Jomo, go to Rules > Sessions > Templates > Add.

2. Name it, then in the apps to block, choose the app you want to block but also receive notifications from.

3. Make sure to activate breaks. Ideally, set a reasonable maximum duration (for example, 15 minutes max).

4. In the β€œDuration” part, select β€œPermanent”.

5. Save your template.

Now, go to the β€œShortcuts” app.

1. Open β€œShortcuts,” then tap β€œNew automation” (if you already have one, Automations > + at the top right).

2. In the list, select β€œApp”.

3. On the new screen, on the β€œApp” line, tap β€œChoose,” then select the same app as your template.

4. Choose β€œIs opened,” check β€œRun automatically,” and finally, tap β€œNext”.

5. Tap β€œNew Blank Automation.” In the input field at the bottom of the screen, type β€œJomo,” then select β€œStart Session”.

6. Tap the blue β€œSession template” box, then in the list, choose your previously created template. Tap the little chevron in the blue circle, a menu will appear.

7. Tap β€œUntil Canceled” and select β€œDuration”. A duration will appear (30 minutes by default). Here, set the maximum break time + 5 minutes (if you set 15 minutes, put 20 minutes).

8. Uncheck β€œShow when run.” Then tap β€œOK.”

Now your app will be blocked only when you want to use it. You'll have to take a break on Jomo, but you can still receive notifications without any issues.

Don’t worry, TikTok will always be around

But your

won't wait.

Better Screen Time

Made simple. See by yourself.

⚑️

πŸ’œ

πŸ”’

⌨️

🌿

🌿

πŸŒ™

✨

Don’t worry, TikTok will always be around

But your

won't wait.

Better Screen Time

Made simple. See by yourself.

⚑️

πŸ’œ

πŸ”’

⌨️

🌿

🌿

πŸŒ™

✨

Don’t worry, TikTok will always be around

But your

won't wait.

Better Screen Time

All made simple. See by yourself.

⚑️

πŸ’œ

πŸ”’

⌨️

🌿

🌿

πŸŒ™

✨

Don’t worry, TikTok will always be around

But your

won't wait.

Better Screen Time

All made simple. See by yourself.

✌️ Method 2

For this second method, you'll also need Jomo and the Shortcuts app.

1. First step, open Jomo > Rules > Session, then tap the + at the bottom right.

2. Name your session clearly (this info is important). Then in the apps to block, select a random site or an app you never use (be careful not to put the app you want to block).

3. Set the desired duration, but make sure to activate breaks! And add the session.

Now, go to Shortcuts.

1. Open β€œShortcuts,” then tap β€œNew automation” (if you already have one, Automations > + at the top right).

2. In the list, select β€œApp”.

3. On the new screen, on the β€œApp” line, tap β€œChoose,” then select the app to block but keep notifications.

4. Choose β€œIs opened,” check β€œRun automatically,” and finally, tap β€œNext”.

5. Tap β€œNew Blank Automation.” In the input field at the bottom of the screen, type β€œJomo,” then select β€œRedirect to Jomo if Session Named is Blocking”.

6. Tap the blue β€œSession template” box, then in the list, choose your previously created template.

7. Finally, confirm by tapping OK.

When you open the blocked app, you'll be redirected to Jomo by the automation you set up. This keeps notifications but blocks access to the app.

There are many ways to block apps and stop making excuses. Even if you use Instagram just for DMs, you no longer have a reason to spend 3 hours a day on it.

βœ‹ Photography by Unsplash ; Illustrations & by Jomo